

Tuesday February 15, 2022 7:30 pm Annual Meeting Minutes Meeting Room

Kathleen Riegelhaupt called the meeting to order, with 15 members present and 45 proxy forms for a quorum.

Daire Browne moved to approve the minutes of the 2021 Annual Meeting, and Sarah Wise Miller seconded. All approved.

Kathleen delivered her remarks, thanking the City of Rye for support, and welcoming Josh Nathan as the new City Council liaison. She also thanked Richard Mecca for his service as a past liaison. She noted the hard work of the staff during the pandemic, and acknowledged the efforts of the Auxiliary Board to adapt events to the safety guidelines. Kathleen also generously thanked the volunteers who turned out after the Ida flooding. Finally, she thanked all the members of the library.

Kathleen then thanked Ted Burdick and Sarah Wise Miller for their service, and presented them with plaques.

Kathleen welcomed Katelyn Haines and Patrick Harrigan, the middle school and high school spelling bee winners. She presented them with their trophies and scholarship checks.

Chris Shoemaker announced Annabel Monaghan as the winner of the Mayor's Award for Contributions to the Literary Arts.

Chris summarized the work of the library, noting the increased visitors and program attendees. While digital use slightly decreased, physical circulation increased as the library continued to re-open. He thanked the staff for their creativity, and the members for all their support.

Lina Eroh noted the accomplishments of the Auxiliary Board in re-imagining Novel Night into Cliffnotes – a backyard event without an after party, as well as the success of the book sale.

Ted Burdick reported on the library's financial performance for the year. A highly successful annual campaign allowed the board to establish a children's book fund to replace all the books lost in the flood. Flood repairs were done using cash in the operating account, and that is reflected in the building operations line, which closed the year at \$310,000 instead of the budgeted \$180,000. The City remains the library's largest funder, and Ted thanked the city for their support. The endowment return stood at 13.5% for the year. The designated funds reflected the funds from Cliffnotes and the booksale.

Emilie Reddoch introduced the new trustees for the Class of 2025. Shelley Huber, Jennifer Philbrick McArdle, Megan Monaghan, and Maria Seiler ae new trustees to the Rye Free Reading Room Board of Trustees. The continuing trustees are Jan Kelsey, Emilie Reddoch, and Wanhi Salerno. Sarah Wise Miller moved to approve the trustees for the Class of 2025, and Ted Burdick seconded. All approved.



Emilie introduced the officers for 2022. Kathleen Riegelaupt would serve a second year as President, and Kiristin Bucci would serve another year as Vice President. Jan Kesley would serve a second year as Secretary, and Maria Seiler would serve her first year as Treasurer. Ted Burdick moved to approve the officers for 2022, and Sarah Wise Miller seconded. All approved.

Emilie Reddoch moved to adjourn the 2022 Annual Meeting, and Nicole Cunningham seconded. All approved, and the meeting adjourned at 8:02 pm.