

Thursday, February 25, 2021 7:30 pm Annual Meeting Minutes Zoom

Francis Jenkins called the meeting to order at 7:32pm, with 55 members attending and 67 proxy forms returned.

Ted Burdick moved to approve the minutes of the 2020 Annual Meeting. Nicole Cunningham seconded, and all approved.

Chris Shoemaker provided an overview of library services. He noted the increased digital lending, as well as higher visitor count on the website. He played a video that highlighted the library activities during the state mandated closure, and the ways the library has adapted to serve the community.

Francis Jenkins congratulated middle school student Connor Hall and high school Senior Elizabeth Fink, winners of the 2020 Trustee Spelling Bee.

Jan Kesley announced Paul DeForest Hicks as the recipient of the Mayor's Awards for Contributions to the Literary Arts. A conversation with Paul Hicks will follow the annual meeting.

Ted Burdick reported on the library's financial performance for the year. Though revenue was down due to decreased fines, the library was able to decrease expenses. The endowment performance lagged compared to 2019. There was little change in the designated funds as there was no Novel Night or Vehicle Fair undertaken in 2020.

Francis thanked all the trustees for their service, and thanked the members for their support over the last three years. He celebrated the library's construction project and noted that the library and the library board were positioned for continued success.

Ted Burdick moved to approve the trustees for the class of 2024. Matt Anderson seconded, and all approved. Ted Burdick moved to approve the officers for 2021, and Ron Cohen seconded. All approved.

Ted Burdick moved to adjourn the 2021 Annual Meeting, and Katy Finger seconded. All approved and the meeting adjourned at 7:53.